Swim club prize-giving rewards top contenders

AQUA Swimming Academy recently held its prize-giving to close the 2017/2018 swimming season.

The children that raced competitively through the season achieved phenomenal results, especially as the club is still so new and most of these swimmers have never had any training before.

Club swimmers had a great time at the prize-giving, participating in some fun races with fun prizes up for grabs. Every swimmer from all three squads was awarded a certificate for their personal achievement, as well as trophies to those who stood out.

Trophy awards was as follows:

Junior squad:

  • Most dedicated: Arno Botha
  • Most improved: Raven Pretorius
  • Most promising: Kai Franken

Intermediate squad:

  • Most dedicated: Mychaela Uys
  • Most improved: Jason Ozorio
  • Most promising: Ashleigh Fick

Senior squad:

  • Most dedicated: Connor Franken
  • Most improved: Meaghan Venter
  • Most promising: Matthew Maree

Aqua Swimming Academy awarded three more trophies to top achievers in the senior squad.

The Dot Liebetrau trophy was awarded to Jason Maree and Dylan Gander for never giving up throughout the season.

Boys club champion went to Matthew Maree and girls club champion went to Kate Andersson. These two young swimmers qualified for level three, medalled at the Premier Champs in December and then went on to medal at the nationals in Sasolburg in April. They were well deserving of this award.

The club also had six swimmers that raced in Sasolburg at the Swim SA nationals. They were presented with a small trophy in recognition of their achievements: Meaghan Venter, Jason Maree, Matthew Maree, Kate Andersson, Connor Franken and Dylan Gander.


To receive news links via WhatsApp, send an invite to 061 694 6047
The South Coast Sun is also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest – why not join us there?

Latest from South Coast Sun