B20 bowls demo proves popular at ABC

By Cher E Bell

HONOURS board competitions have resumed at Amanzimtoti Bowling Club after the Christmas break.

In the second semi-final of the men’s nominated trips, Ian Crouch, Lofty van Tonder and Barry Bush had a good win against the novice team of Greg Veldtman, Steve Woor and Paul Davies.

The two women’s semis of the drawn fours were both fairly close contests, with Pam Chalder-Royle, Elmarie Young, Leonie Mills and Karen Shepherd beating Marion Crouch, Heather Cooper, Marie van der Walt and Debbie Gueffroy; and Doreen Salmond, Jackie Holdrick, Vera Broskie and Adrienne Robbins beating Nita Meumann, Amanda Ninow, Linda McGregor and Talla Stephens-Viviers.

Heather Cooper defeated Denise Bingham in their semi-final game of the women’s open singles; and Doreen Salmond beat Elmarie Young. Good bowling to both women in the final. In first round games of men’s handicap singles, Keith West beat Andrew Walker, Steve Woor defeated Innocent Sithole, Leon van Rensburg overcame Shawn Sutherland; and in a second round game Steve Woor got the better of Keith West. Well done to all the players for making the effort to get their games played in spite of the weather.

In the men’s monthly trips, winners were Paul Els, Wessie van der Westhuizen and Herman van Zyl; runners-up were Glen Scorgie, Peter Callaghan and Barry Bush; and second session went to Gerald Chalder-Royle, Allan Duncan and Brian Cox.

The demo of B20 bowls, although eventually abandoned due to rain, was well attended. In the demo match, Jackie Holdrick astounded the crowd by taking the first and only wicket of the game. Her team with Alec and Nicky Stirzaker made 11 runs in five overs against Glen Scorgie, Mike Pitchers and Maggie Robertson who scored 13 runs, from which two runs were deducted for the wicket. Therefore the game ended in a draw. Thanks to Jeff van Belkum for umpiring the main game, and most members who participated agreed that this will be a fun tournament for the future.

Click here to read: B20 shakes up lawn bowls

AT TGIF, the Christmas hamper draw took place. The two winners were Pete Shepard and Mark Brodie. Brian Crause won the 100 board. Greg Crouch, who is a social member, was sadly not in attendance when his number was drawn, therefore the attendance draw will be worth R350 next week. Dave McMillian’s number came up in the key draw, and although he did not have the lucky key, he won R100 bonus prize. Next week’s key draw is worth R3,360.

The following men will be playing novice men’s singles on Saturday, 14 January at Durban Bowling Club: Dean Cooper, Steve Woor, Paul Davies, Keith West, Greg Veldtman, Andy Jones, Leon van Rensburg and Wessie van der Westhuizen. Good bowling to them all.

The women’s draws for handicap singles and drawn trips are on the board, and the first round of the trips will be played on Saturday, 21 January. Check the board for cardings. Dates to remember are first round of potato trips, Friday, 13 January; Big Chicks, Sunday, 15 January and mutton, Sunday, 22 January.

Many happy returns go this week to Guelfo Cobianchi, Marie van der Walt, Carole Glaves and Ruth de Canha, and get well wishes to all who are sick at this time.

By Cher E Bell

Latest News


Recommended Story x
ABC bowlers do well in PN pairs