Mtungwa leads Toti AC charge at Durban City Marathon

AMANZIMTOTI Athletics Club participated in the Durban City Marathon held on Sunday, 9 April at Kings Park Athletics Stadium.

The results are as follows:

  • 42.2km: S Mtungwa 2.52.39, N Khathi 3.22.23, S Fynn 3.23.31, T Gumede 3.28.59, T Mntungwa 3.38.34, S Razak 3.39.32, N Jensen 3.40.44, M McCalgan 3.48.23, E Lockem 3.50.23, R Legg 3.54.50, M Ndlovu 3.55.56, M Mhlongo 3.56.49, L Symmonds 4.14,19, E Luiz 4.15.29, M Radebe 4.16.15, S Mbatha 4.23.14, D Ozorio 4.28.44, R Hair 4.37.08, C Stange 4.37.09, J Momberg 4.39.26, T Machado 5.02.34, S Pratt 5.04.14, M Kunene 5.06.07, T Mthethwa 5.11.33, G Duvenhage 5.17.49, G Hall 5.22.36, S Campbell 5.22.39.
  • 21.1km: M Yokwe 1.51.31, C Botha 1.53.59, C Khowa 1.54.24, W Gibson 1.56.55, E Torien 1.57.43, T Mdanda 1.58.10, N Ndlovu 1.59.10, C Warren 2.09.52, J D’Oliveira 2.09.52, T Zama 2.16.57, L Botha 2.22.16, C Botha 2.28.14, C von Solms 2.35.35, C Clarisse 2.37.20, P Radebe 2.37.37, H Nell 2.49.17, H Dercksen 3.13.33.
  • 10km: A Gilpen 57.13, R Warren 58.06, R Gilpin 1.02.11, S Foord 1.08.11, I Bohmer 1.10.19 (placed third in the female walker category), S van der Merwe 1.14.56, A Kretzmann 1.20.28, M Weyer 1.20.39, P Yelseth 1.27.55, J Williams 1.27.56, S Coulter 1.28.03, J Rees 1.28.36, F Paxton 1.29.19, T Rudman 1.30.59, K Nichols 1.31.02, C Brown 1.31.02, B Stange 1.40.41.

Time trials

THIRTY five athletes participated in time trials on Wednesday, 5 April.

The following results were recorded:

  • 4km walk: D van der Merwe 31.06, I Bohmer 31.06, S van der Merwe 34.01, M Weyer 34.11, J Williams 34.25, R Stewart 34.25, S Coulter 34.26.
  • 4km run: L Nompula 21.04, T Machado 21.42, S Msomi 22.10, T Zama 22.10, S Lindeque 22.30, S Byrne 22.55, S Venter 25.04, N Uys 25.04, N Mbhela 25.25, G Mulders 25.42, R Verrall 26.39, G van Zyl, 27.16, S Foord 28.43, J Rooschuz 29.11, A Harris 29.16, C Webber 30.00, J Kruger 30.41.
  • 8km run: S Sibangu 29.37, M Khumalo 29.42; E Luiz 35.10, V Mngadi 39.57, M Mkhize 40.35, M Mhlongo 42.05, N Saville 44.48, B Botes 49.05, B Hamilton 55.53.

If you would like to become a member of the club, visit the clubhouse on Wednesday evenings between 6pm and 7pm. Alternatively, email Jodine at or visit for more details and membership forms.

Weekly time trials are on Wednesday at 5.30pm for walkers and 6pm for runners (both over 4km and 8km). Visitors are always welcome to join and should meet at the clubhouse at Hutchison Park. On Saturdays there is an 11km run and walk from the clubhouse at 5.30am for walkers and 6am for runners.

Contact club chairman Alan Payne on 083-463-4533, captain Warren Gibson on 082-713-0305 or for junior track and field queries, call Riaan Vosloo on 078-457-1936.


Click on the words highlighted in red to read more on this and related topics.
To receive news links via WhatsApp, send an invite to 061 694 6047
The South Coast Sun is also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest – why not join us there?

Do you have more information pertaining to this story?
Feel free to let us know by commenting on our Facebook page or you can contact our newsroom on 031 903 2341 and speak to a journalist.

(Comments posted on this issue may be used for publication in the Sun)

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Mtungwa leads Toti AC’s Mandela Marathon field